Introduction

19 Aug

My father with some very strange hat in 1989.

As the daughter of a journalist/English teacher and editor, I somehow managed to grow up with almost no appreciation for the magic of words. I blame my mother, who took all of us to the library regularly and read to us nearly every night. My father, an English teacher with an extensive library in his office and a great fondness for writing, didn’t help either. He frequently talked about what he was teaching and engaged us in conversations about books regularly.

Don’t get me wrong, my parents did all the right things when it came to raising highly literate children. The problem was that having been submerged in words from day one, I never realized that anyone could exist without words. For me, being moved by a great book, a pithy article or a funny comic strip was part of life. A world without books was as impossible as a world without air or water.

So, my initial exposure to literature made me an excellent reader, but not a self-aware reader. Until I started writing for a living and experiencing my readers’ reactions to my stories, I took the power of words for granted. It was not until one of my first newspaper stories, a feature on the dwindling market for humanitarian trips to Nicaragua in the wake of the country’s first post-Contra elections, elicited a slew of indignant protests that I realized the effect of written words.

I have worked with words for all of my professional life, first as a journalist, then as a teacher. This blog features some of my writing published in print and on the web. Feel free to add comments and enjoy.

One Response to “Introduction”

  1. Mr WordPress August 19, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

